Uncategorized

A Post fitting for Father’s Day

I was blessed due to divorce to have two father’s. One who made me, and one who helped raise me. In 2014 I lost my father, the one who made me, to an ugly disease cancer.. But today’s post is not about sadness, it’s about memories and where a huge chunk of mine began. When my dad passed I inherited my childhood home, it is the most beautiful place on earth to me. My dad was a wonderful, hardworking, barber, coon hunter, trader of all things but he was single for most of the past 10 years, his home showed a lot of wear and tear and needed much work for it to actually be livable. Today I would like to share a little bit of this place with you.IMG_0732

Here is the driveway that brought me to see my dad for 41 years, my dad and mom bought this house in 1973 for $17,000, it has almost 5 acres and backs up to a river. My dad made several improvements to the home over the years.

IMG_0734

This is what you see when you come up the driveway, my sister and I had our rooms upstairs, and we would climb that old antenna to the roof.

IMG_0738

Here is the other side of the house. This was added about 15 years ago, my dad loved sitting on that deck and just being outdoors.

This house means so much more to me then just a house, my high school graduation was here, the first time I rode a horse was here. I wore skates and skated around inside with my sister pretending we were Olivia Newton-John in Xanadu, I heard my dad laugh in this house and I also heard him cry in this house. I heard him play guitar and sing to me,and I can still hear him playing in this house. I have always felt such peace here, I still walk in and say “Hi dad it”s Ang, just incase he didn’t know my voice after 40 years. LOL. This place holds soo many memories for me, and I need everyone of them, fresh and there everyday. There will be a time that memories will start to fade, but I will have this place to refresh every one of them for me.. I will leave you with this, this is my dad’s guitar, and one song that sticks out in my head he always sang was “Put Another Log on the Fire” by Waylon Jennings, sit back with me and just pretend you can  hear him singing..

IMG_0751IMG_3361

4 thoughts on “A Post fitting for Father’s Day

thank you for sharing your thoughts

